St. Florus's Convent
Kyiv, 6/8 Frolivska Street
+38044 425 0181;
+38044 463 7618
07:00 a.m. - 08:00 p.m.
St. Florus’s Convent is the most ancient functioning nunnery in the city. Its buildings occupy the slopes of Zamkova Hill. The first documentary evidence about the convent is found in the charter of the King of Poland Sigismund II Augustus, dated back to 1566.
Originally, there were two wooden churches of Sts. Florus and Laurus which gave the name to the convent. In 1712 the Ascension (Voznesenskyi) Convent in Pechersk was closed and joint to St. Florus’s Convent. The new merged convent became known as “Florivskyi Voznesenskyi”.
The nuns of the Ascension Convent were mostly women from the upper classes who made rich donations to the convent. Moreover, they also did needlework and golden-embroidered items which brought additional revenue to the convent.
The growing prosperity of the convent allowed to construct stone buildings. In 1722 – 1732 the Ascension Cathedral was built and in 1740s a bell tower was erected in the St. Florus’s Convent. The cathedral was designed in the Baroque style and had three domes. Later reconstructions changed the original appearances of the cathedral and the domes lost their pear shape. The interiors were decorated with mural paintings of the 19th-20th cc.
In 1811 the Convent was damaged by the fire which engulfed all Podil. The renovation and construction of new buildings was carried out by the architect Andriy Melenskyi. He built the bell tower above the gates of the Convent (1821), the picturesque one-storied house of the Mother Superior (1822) to the south of the gates, and the small Ressurection Church, attached to the convent hospital (1824) and situated on the heights to the north of the refectory. The last temple of the Convent to be built was the Church of the Kazan Icon of the Blessed Virgin (1840-1844) and the Church of the Holy Trinity (1857) on Zamkova Hill which was not preserved.
In 1870 a school for girls from poor families was opened at the expense of the convent. Moreover, since the end of the 19th c. a hospice and a hospital were operating in the convent’s territory.
St. Florus’s Convent was closed by the soviets in 1929. It was reopened again in 1941. However, in 1960 industrial enterprises took over the Church of the Kazan Icon of the Blessed Virgin (it was rebuilt as a factory workshop), Ressurection Church, Refectory Church (rebuilt as a workshop for icons restoration) and other buildings.
At present, religious services are held in the Ascension Cathedral. All buildings (except the destroyed Church of the Holy Trinity) were returned to St. Florus’s Convent. There are over two hundred nuns and many novices at the convent. In the territory of the convent there is a garden of roses, fruit trees and magnolias which create a picturesque view in combination with the ancient temples.